Latest topics
» Has anyone had a similar problem with a rose......
by Ozeboy 21st November 2017, 09:59

» Sad second year roses :(
by The Lazy Rosarian 17th November 2017, 15:40

» what do I need to do?
by eileen0 3rd November 2017, 16:41

» Feeding routines
by carmel 9th October 2017, 10:06

» Two to identify please
by LouiseJB 25th September 2017, 16:02

» rose for sale
by carmel 25th September 2017, 07:46

» Anyone ever heard of this before?
by The Lazy Rosarian 17th September 2017, 16:19

» parole
by Malnewby 14th September 2017, 18:38


Rose & Garden Book Reviews

View previous topic View next topic Go down

Rose & Garden Book Reviews

Post by Dimity Cottage on 1st October 2013, 14:31

Thought it might be time to revive an old Topic.. It is always interesting to see what everyone is reading. Or where you may be getting your Design Ideas & Informative plans for your gardens. Your books may be for Reference within your workplace or home garden. They may be Coffee Table Books, the ones you can sit back with a coffee, wine or beer & say What If??? They may be about the origin of a particular Species of Rose or the Naming of Roses. You may have a rare book that you know Collectors may like to hunt for.  

Anyway here goes -

Book reviews need to show:

Title:
Main Topic:
Author(s)/Editors/Publisher:
Date of Publication:
ISBN:
EAN:
Cover scan/photo if possible:
Contents List if possible (or contents page scan/photo):
Summary:
Strong points:
Weaknesses:
Star rating:

Note... star rating is out of five possible stars where one is least useful and 5 are the most. Use the star smileys in the smileys list.
They look like this Gold Star Rating: Gold Star Rating Gold Star Rating Gold Star Rating Gold Star Rating Gold Star Rating 

I will post a couple of my Favourites to start us off.  
avatar
Dimity Cottage

Number of posts : 333
Age : 62
Location : ELLEN GROVE, Queensland
Registration date : 2013-09-01

Back to top Go down

Re: Rose & Garden Book Reviews

Post by Dimity Cottage on 1st October 2013, 15:24

Title: The Rose and the Clematis as good companions
Main Topic: The Growing of the Rose and the Clematis as good companions
Author: John Howells
Publisher: Garden Art Press
Date of Publication: United Kingdom, 03 January 1998
ISBN:1870673190
EAN:9781870673198
[You must be registered and logged in to see this image.][You must be registered and logged in to see this image.]

Contents List :
Chapter 1   Clematis and Roses as Garden Plants
Chapter 2   Organizing the Good Companions
Chapter 3   Clematis on Climbing Roses Before the Rose Flowers
Chapter 4   Clematis on Climbing Roses When in Flower
Chapter 5   Clematis on Climbing Roses After thermoses Flower
Chapter 6   Clematis Growing Under Climbing Roses
Chapter 7   Clematis Near Climbing Roses
Chapter 8   Clematis With Shrub Roses
Chapter 9   Clematis With Bedding Roses
Chapter 10 Roses and Clematis Together in Containers
Chapter 11 Roses and Clematis as Cut Flowers
Chapter 12 Cultivation of Roses and Clematis

Summary:
In this attractive and informative book, the author, who is also a past Chairman of the British Clematis Society, introduces his readers to the idea of growing the rose and the clematis together so that the beauty of one plant may enhance and be enhanced by that of the other. He points out that the climbing rose is the natural companion or partner of the clematis and when the two are grown together, the overall effect can be dramatic. To help his readers achieve the desired effect, the author sets out, with the aid of clear step-by-step illustrated instructions, the precise course of action to be followed. Written in plain, straightforward language, the author covers every possible aspect of the subject. As well as details of classification, in which he suggests the best plants for the job, he provides important seasonal growing information including autumn and spring pruning techniques, planting details and invaluable advice on the use of colour. The vexed question of diseases and pests is also dealt with at length. This is a useful and instructive title, written by an author with a deep knowledge and love of his subject. He sets out to show what can be achieved and his own bea utiful colour photographs, which feature so prominently throughout this book, should inspire readers to apply what they have seen here as being also possible in their own gardens, with equally rewarding results.

Strong points: This is a Fabulous publication I now know that with the right conditions and combinations of Roses and Clematis even I can grow these beautiful plants. I have my first Clematis growing in Sunny Queensland and plan to grow more.

Weaknesses: I can honestly say that this book has opened my eyes to the growing of these two plants together in harmony. I can see no weaknesses in this publication.

Star rating: Gold Star Rating Gold Star Rating Gold Star Rating Gold Star Rating Gold Star Rating


Last edited by Dimity Cottage on 2nd October 2013, 08:41; edited 2 times in total
avatar
Dimity Cottage

Number of posts : 333
Age : 62
Location : ELLEN GROVE, Queensland
Registration date : 2013-09-01

Back to top Go down

Re: Rose & Garden Book Reviews

Post by Dimity Cottage on 1st October 2013, 15:55

Title: Naming The Rose Discovering Who Roses Are Named For
Main Topic: How, When, Where & Whom Roses have been Named After
Author: Roger Mann
Publisher: Random House Australia
Date of Publication: Australia, 26 September 2008
ISBN:1741668301
EAN:9781741668308

[You must be registered and logged in to see this image.][You must be registered and logged in to see this image.]

Contents List :
Introduction
People of the Rose
Beautiful Roses For....

Summary:
The author, Roger Mann, has been a gardening writer for 20 years, including 10 years as gardening editor of the Australian Family Circle and eight as a regular contributor to Your Garden. He has written or co-written over 25 books on various gardening topics, including the best-selling Yates Roses. One of the photographers, Paul Barden, lives in Seattle and his hobby is breeding roses. The other photographer, Yvonne Arnold, lives in the Adelaide Hills where she has made one of Australia's finest rose gardens.

Strong points: This is a Book for the Lovers of All Roses. The Stories are Enchanting and the Photography Beautiful. I am sure you will enjoy it as much as I did.

Weak Points: I just wish this book could have gone on forever.

Star rating: Gold Star Rating Gold Star Rating Gold Star Rating Gold Star Rating  & HALF


Last edited by Dimity Cottage on 2nd October 2013, 08:40; edited 1 time in total
avatar
Dimity Cottage

Number of posts : 333
Age : 62
Location : ELLEN GROVE, Queensland
Registration date : 2013-09-01

Back to top Go down

Re: Rose & Garden Book Reviews

Post by Dimity Cottage on 1st October 2013, 16:46

Title: Tea Roses Old Roses for Warm Gardens
Main Topic: This book is solely devoted to Tea Roses for over 100 years, Roses that Flourish in Warmer Climates.
Authors: Lynne Chapman, Noelene Drage, Di Durston, Jenny Jones, Hillary Merrifield and Billy West (Know as The Tea Ladies)
Publisher: Rosenberg Publications
Date of Publication: Australia, 01 August 2008
ISBN:187705867X
EAN:9781877058677

[You must be registered and logged in to see this image.][You must be registered and logged in to see this image.]

Contents List :
Acknowledgements
Introduction: In Praise of Tea Roses
Part 1: Tea Roses - Their Past, Present and Future
Part 2: Tea Roses in Australia A-Z
Glossary
Appendixes
Bibliography
Picture Credits
Index

Summary:
Tea roses - once almost forgotten - are now being celebrated again for their elegance and beauty and acclaimed as superb shrubs for warm gardens. Descended from Chinese garden hybrids introduced into Europe in the early nineteenth century, Tea roses have long been considered in a class of their own for their exquisite colours, distinctive fragrance, fine foliage and almost constant flushes of flowers in warmer climates. They were looked upon as almost perfect roses, but the passage of time and the vagaries of fashion saw them lose favour and all but disappear. The authors have covered the history of Tea roses, their rise and fall in popularity and the nomenclature problems that arose during their revival when interest in old roses was rekindled in the later twentieth century. Readers will find many questions answered and some old mysteries unravelled. Full details are given of Tea roses currently sold in Australia, with the authors bringing together their observations and knowledge of the Teas they grow - the descriptions are first-hand and not just a repetition of what has been said before. Lavishly illustrated with colour photographs and historical plates, this book invites you to share the beauty and the fascinating story of the Teas - but be warned - once captivated by these lovely roses there is no going back.

Strong points: This is the Publication where I first fell in love with Tea Roses. I now have several growing in Sunny Queensland and plan to grow more. I am so pleased I happened upon this book whilst looking for another. I would not be without it.

Weaknesses: I can honestly say that this book has opened my eyes to the growing of these Beauties in Warmer Climates. I can see no real weaknesses in this publication.

Star rating: Gold Star Rating Gold Star Rating Gold Star Rating Gold Star Rating and a HALF


Last edited by Dimity Cottage on 2nd October 2013, 08:39; edited 1 time in total
avatar
Dimity Cottage

Number of posts : 333
Age : 62
Location : ELLEN GROVE, Queensland
Registration date : 2013-09-01

Back to top Go down

Re: Rose & Garden Book Reviews

Post by jordan71 on 2nd October 2013, 06:59

good reviews thanks Dianne
avatar
jordan71

Number of posts : 1699
Location : melbourne
Registration date : 2012-03-02

Back to top Go down

Re: Rose & Garden Book Reviews

Post by Dimity Cottage on 2nd October 2013, 14:03

Pleased you enjoyed them Jordan, perhaps you have one to share. I have another couple about very old Rose Books but don't want to put them on until we have some other members submit.  
avatar
Dimity Cottage

Number of posts : 333
Age : 62
Location : ELLEN GROVE, Queensland
Registration date : 2013-09-01

Back to top Go down

Re: Rose & Garden Book Reviews

Post by jordan71 on 2nd October 2013, 20:09

yeah I have several Dianne . although I only have few Teas in my collection of roses , I believe they do better in your climate , but I love some of tea roses out there

and that book is next on my list
avatar
jordan71

Number of posts : 1699
Location : melbourne
Registration date : 2012-03-02

Back to top Go down

Re: Rose & Garden Book Reviews

Post by The Lazy Rosarian on 7th October 2013, 06:35

Title: A Rose Odyssey
Main Topic: Reminiscences of Many Trips to European Rose Centres
Author(s)/Editors: J. H. Nicolas, N.Sc.D
ISBN: this book does not have one, it pre-dates that, it has copyright only dated at 1937
Cover scan/photo if possible: [You must be registered and logged in to see this link.]
Contents List (or contents page scan/photo): The contents of this book are of breeders of the world.
Summary: The book is for those which like to read about some of the founding rose breeders of the world, foundation stuff, not for all readers. It could be compared to the book that Dianne previewed earlier "Naming The Rose", this book names the person or person which bred them.
Strong points: History
Weaknesses: None
Star rating:GS: Gold Star Rating Gold Star Rating Gold Star Rating Gold Star Rating 
avatar
The Lazy Rosarian

Number of posts : 5151
Age : 64
Location : Mudgee, NSW, Australia
Registration date : 2009-01-11

Back to top Go down

Re: Rose & Garden Book Reviews

Post by Dimity Cottage on 7th October 2013, 20:26

My kind of book David, I will have to see if I can get a copy.
avatar
Dimity Cottage

Number of posts : 333
Age : 62
Location : ELLEN GROVE, Queensland
Registration date : 2013-09-01

Back to top Go down

Re: Rose & Garden Book Reviews

Post by The Lazy Rosarian on 21st November 2013, 16:35

This is for you Dianne(and others) if you need some reading material, it's rough, but what the heck, hope you are on the mend.

David's Books
Botanica's Pocket      Roses
The Encycopedia of Roses                 McKeon
Roses                                            Esther Geldenhuys
Success with Roses                          Your Garden
Top 100 Fragrant Roses                   Your Garden
Old Fashioned Roses                       James Young
Roses(the new compact study guide and identifier) John Mattock
Rose Growing For Pleasure               Deane Ross
Twentieth Century Roses                  Peter Beales
The Rose Garden- Climbing Roses     Elvin McDonald
Growing Roses in Australia              A. S. Thomas
Our Heritage of Old Roses                     Judyth McCleod
Roses                                            Jack Harkness
Naming of the Rose                         Rodger Mann
Roses (their colourful kin & friends)
A Rose Odyssey                               J. H. Nichols
Rose Growing Complete                    E. B. LeGrice
The Pocket Encyclopedia of Modern Roses
                                                  Gregory
The Australian Rose Annual 1965
Rosa Rugosa                                  Suzanne Verrier
Garden of a Thousand Roses            Susan Irvine
Roses                                           Roger Phillips &
                                                 Martyn Rix
The Companion to Roses                 John Fisher
Old Fashioned Roses                      Trevor Griffiths
125 years Passion for Roses             Kordes Family
Tea Roses – Old roses  for warm climates
                                                 Lynnette Chapman,
                                                 Noelene Drage
                                                 Di Durston
                                                Jenny Jones
                                                Hillary Merrifield
                                                Billy West
Botanica's Roses
A – Z of Roses                             Lifetime Distributors
The English Rose                         David Austin
Macoboy's Roses                           Stirling Macoboy
English Roses (New Edition)          David Austin
Rose Gardens of Australia             Susan Irvine
The Photographic Encycopedia of Roses
                                               Colour Library Books
Ultimate Rose                             American Rose Society
The Book of The Rose                  Michael Gibson / Donald    
                                                 Myall
The Best of Modern Roses             Trevor Griffith
Be Your Own Rose Expert             Dr D. G. Hessman &
                                               Harry Wheatcroft
Fragrant Roses                            Susan Irvine
avatar
The Lazy Rosarian

Number of posts : 5151
Age : 64
Location : Mudgee, NSW, Australia
Registration date : 2009-01-11

Back to top Go down

Re: Rose & Garden Book Reviews

Post by Dimity Cottage on 21st November 2013, 16:58

Thanks so Much David, today is my best day for a while, my sight is starting to return to normal, only a little hazy now and I did water the front garden myself today. We seem to always miss the rain here. I will have to look into your books that I don't have, I have found a fabulous new site for online ordering.  Cheers....  
avatar
Dimity Cottage

Number of posts : 333
Age : 62
Location : ELLEN GROVE, Queensland
Registration date : 2013-09-01

Back to top Go down

Re: Rose & Garden Book Reviews

Post by The Lazy Rosarian on 21st November 2013, 17:05

Which one's do want sent, my Christmas present to you. I am serious about this
avatar
The Lazy Rosarian

Number of posts : 5151
Age : 64
Location : Mudgee, NSW, Australia
Registration date : 2009-01-11

Back to top Go down

Re: Rose & Garden Book Reviews

Post by Dimity Cottage on 21st November 2013, 17:22

David, You are so kind, but your Friendship is present enough. You will need your books in your old age as I know what a comfort mine have been to me, when my illness gets the best of me.
I hope your partner knows what a special person they have...  Coming up Roses Coming up Roses Coming up Roses Coming up Roses Coming up Roses
avatar
Dimity Cottage

Number of posts : 333
Age : 62
Location : ELLEN GROVE, Queensland
Registration date : 2013-09-01

Back to top Go down

Re: Rose & Garden Book Reviews

Post by muscovyduckling on 21st November 2013, 17:29

I read this one on my recent holiday in WA.

Title: Seven Flowers and How They Shaped Our World
Main Topic: Discussed the changing social, cultural and economic impact of the seven target flowers throughout history.
Author: Jennifer Potter
Date of Publication: 2013
ISBN: 978-0-85789-164-8
Contents List:
Lotus
Lily
Opium Poppy
Sunflower
Rose
Tulip
Orchid
Summary: Each chapter in this book relates to one of the seven flowers, describing there the flower originated and how it came to be in different parts of the world. The author explores each flower's imagery and symbolism in both religious and secular art, as well as it's changing role in economics, commerce, medicine and popular culture throughout the ages.
Strong points: It's an interesting read for history nerds like myself!
Weaknesses: It's not exactly a gardening book.
Star Rating: Gold Star Rating I've only given this book one star because it's not really 'useful' in a practical sense, but it's a good read nonetheless less.

The author has also written a similar (much fatter) book purely on roses called The Rose: A True History that I have here but haven't read yet. Others on this forum might find that book more interesting.
avatar
muscovyduckling

Number of posts : 771
Location : Dandenong Ranges, Melbourne
Registration date : 2013-10-29

Back to top Go down

Re: Rose & Garden Book Reviews

Post by The Lazy Rosarian on 21st November 2013, 17:39

Dimity Cottage wrote:David, You are so kind, but your Friendship is present enough. You will need your books in your old age as I know what a comfort mine have been to me, when my illness gets the best of me.
I hope your partner knows what a special person they have...  Coming up Roses Coming up Roses Coming up Roses Coming up Roses Coming up Roses
Friendship costs nothing Dianne, if I can send you something to read, it is my pleasure. Now you have to respect your elders which I am one. Let me know if you would like to read any of these.
avatar
The Lazy Rosarian

Number of posts : 5151
Age : 64
Location : Mudgee, NSW, Australia
Registration date : 2009-01-11

Back to top Go down

Re: Rose & Garden Book Reviews

Post by Dimity Cottage on 21st November 2013, 17:55

OK, David you win - and you are only 2 year older than me, same as Graham. These are the ones I would like to read - Twentieth Century Roses-Peter Beales, Growing Roses in Australia-A. S. Thomas, Roses-Jack Harkness, 125 years Passion for Roses-Kordes Family....
 
avatar
Dimity Cottage

Number of posts : 333
Age : 62
Location : ELLEN GROVE, Queensland
Registration date : 2013-09-01

Back to top Go down

Re: Rose & Garden Book Reviews

Post by The Lazy Rosarian on 21st November 2013, 18:00

I have just you a PM with the  
avatar
The Lazy Rosarian

Number of posts : 5151
Age : 64
Location : Mudgee, NSW, Australia
Registration date : 2009-01-11

Back to top Go down

Re: Rose & Garden Book Reviews

Post by jordan71 on 29th November 2013, 07:04

David I'll have all of them roflmao 
avatar
jordan71

Number of posts : 1699
Location : melbourne
Registration date : 2012-03-02

Back to top Go down

Re: Rose & Garden Book Reviews

Post by rosebud on 29th November 2013, 09:48

Love this topic. I have a confession to make - I keep a list of book titles/authors in my handbag, just in case I come across one on my daily travels! Also order them from time to time on-line. I'm currently awaiting arrival of Nancy Steen's book, Charm of Old Roses. One of my favourites is the Tea Rose book that has already been mentioned. Purchased this year from Florilegium's store at a local plant show, one more crossed off my list! Fabulous resource book. Other books that provide practical insights, as well as great reading in my small library include,
Growing Roses in Australia by A.S.Thomas (1983)
Modern Roses in Australia by B.V.Rossi (1930)
English Roses by David Austin (1997)
Garden of a Thousand Roses by Susan Irvine
Naming the Rose by Roger Mann
Old Fashioned Roses by James Young

running out of time to add more ...

but I also collect rose catalogues. I have Judith McLeod's rose catalogue from 1992 with gorgeous descriptions (no pics) that I often use as a reference, and also a precious little rose catalogue by Heather Rumsey that also provides succinct descriptions and some cultivation information.
avatar
rosebud

Number of posts : 195
Location : Sunshine Coast Hinterland, Qld
Registration date : 2013-05-03

Back to top Go down

Rose and Garden books

Post by Debbie G on 1st December 2013, 17:38

I loved Roger Mann's book "Naming the Rose", and also the "Tea Rose" book, both so full of information!
I have another book called "The Women Behind the Roses" by Tilley and Andrew Govanstone, which is about Alister Clark and his roses. It has photos and details of about 65 AC roses and the women they were named for.
At the moment I'm reading through Thomas Christopher's book "In Search of Lost Roses". I am really enjoying it, although I sometimes get a bit confused with some of the American geography and history. It is the story of the 'rose rustlers' in the US and the heritage rose movement there. But it also has some wonderful chapters on roses in ancient Greece and Rome, and a fascinating chapter on roses in China. Full of really interesting stuff!
T. Christopher quotes Dean Hole's 'A Book About Roses', so I started reading that, and it is an absolute delight! Mine is the 1901 edition, just lovely to dip into and read a chapter for a bit of total escapism from the 21st century - I love it!
Not entirely about roses, though there are lots in this book, is 'Common Lives' by Janice Marriott and Virginia Pawsey - two New Zealand women who share their gardens and their lives through a year of letters to one another. I loved 'The 3,000 Mile Garden', and I guess this is in the same vein. The nicest book I've read for a long time!

Debbie G

Number of posts : 104
Location : Parkes, NSW
Registration date : 2013-10-29

Back to top Go down

Re: Rose & Garden Book Reviews

Post by rosebud on 2nd December 2013, 10:29

Oh, I love your selection. I have Thomas Christopher's book on my 'want' list for a while now. And Dean Hole's book has been referred to in one ? of Susan Irvine's books so I've added that to my list. Looks like I'll be adding your book, Common Lives, to my list too!Smile 
avatar
rosebud

Number of posts : 195
Location : Sunshine Coast Hinterland, Qld
Registration date : 2013-05-03

Back to top Go down

Re: Rose & Garden Book Reviews

Post by Sponsored content


Sponsored content


Back to top Go down

View previous topic View next topic Back to top


 
Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum